This article describes how to create, edit, start, update, resume, stop, archive and delete checklists.

______

Who can create and manage checklists?

Any member of a TeamworkIQ account can create and manage checklists for their own personal use. However, only account members who have been granted the Manager role may assign tasks to other people. If you need access to TeamworkIQ's Manager features, ask the owner or administrator of the account to make you a Manager.

______

Checklist Owner

When you start a checklist, you become the Checklist Owner for that checklist.

Each checklist has at least one Checklist Owner. You can add and remove other Owners at any time.  Checklist Owners are responsible for monitoring the progress of the checklist, for handing issues, for reassigning tasks and for editing the checklist if that becomes necessary.

An Owner of a checklist may edit it at any time to change its content and to add or remove tasks. If the checklist has been started, an Owner may also mark tasks as done, and may also uncheck tasks to reopen them. 

When issues arise (e.g. the task is not assigned), the Owners of the checklist are notified of the issue and are responsible for resolving it. To resolve an issue, Owners may edit, update and resume the checklist.

It is often a good idea to add a second Owner to a checklist. An Owner might be sick, stuck in a critical meeting or on vacation. Adding a second Owner will allow the second Owner to handle any issues that arise.

To remove yourself as an Owner:

  1. If you are the only Owner, add at least one other Owner.
  2. Ask another Owner to remove you.

This sequence ensures the transition of responsibility is clearly communicated.

______

Create and Edit a "Draft" Checklist

There are a few ways to create a new checklist. The first of these is the "New..." button in the Main Menu.

  1. When you click "New..." a list of templates is shown below options to create a new template, a new one-time user checklist, or a task.
  2. Click on the various templates to see how to create workflows, processes, task lists, project outlines and more. Use these templates as starting points, or create your new checklist from scratch using the Blank checklist option.

______

Make a Copy of a Checklist

The second way to create a new checklist is to Make a copy of another checklist. Make a copy means that any checklist can be used as the "template" to create a new checklist. When you press Make a copy, the new checklist is "reset" so that no tasks are marked as done. 

  1. View the checklist you want to duplicate.
  2. Click the ... menu.
  3. Select Make a copy

TeamworkIQ created a copy of the checklist for you and opens it in the editor. We suggest using the same title, but changing the word "(copy)" to something that uniquely identifies the checklist. For example: "Onboard New Employee -- (copy)" becomes "Onboard New Employee -- Amada Greggs".

  1. Start the checklist, or, make more changes as needed and then start the checklist.


______

Create a New Checklist from a Template

A formal "Template Library" is coming soon. Until then, we suggest including the word "TEMPLATE" in the title of any checklist you want to use as a template (e.g. "End of the Month Accounting Procedures for: TEMPLATE").

This allows you to search for the word "TEMPLATE," giving you quick access to a list of your checklist templates. Click to open the template you want and press "Make a copy".

______

Start a Checklist

  1. Draft a checklist. Here's how.
  2. Press START.

Now that was easy!

______

Edit and Update an "In Process" Checklist

Once a checklist has been sent, it moves to the In Process list. However, you may still need to make changes to the checklist to adapt to new needs, or assign tasks to someone new.

To edit an "In Process" checklist...

  1. Go to the checklist.
  2. Press EDIT.
  3. Make changes.
  4. Press RESUME.

Important: While you are editing a checklist, other people cannot update the checklist. Thus it's important to click RESUME as soon as you are done.

______

Stop an "In Process" Checklist

Ordinarily, a checklist is considered done as soon as all of its tasks are completed. However, an Owner can stop a checklist early if desired. This might be necessary if an approver rejects a document, or if the process is no longer needed, or if you accidentally start a checklist before it is ready.

To stop an "In Process" checklist...

  1. Go to the checklist.
  2. Click the ... menu
  3. Select Stop

As soon as STOP is clicked, the checklist is moved to the Done list and tagged as "Stopped". The orange, partially completed progress bar indicates that the checklist was not fully completed:

Even stopped checklists can be resumed. Just open the checklist, click EDIT, then RESUME. The checklist returns to the In Process state.

______

Archive a Checklist

When a checklist if completed or stopped it's moved to the Done list. The Done list is a list of checklists that are no longer in process. If a checklist stays in the Done list for 30 days, it will be archived. As soon as a checklist is archived, it can be viewed and copied, but not edited.

______

Delete a Checklist

Because organizations often need to retain their checklists as part of an audit trail, you cannot delete a checklist after it has been started. However, you can simply STOP the checklist. This automatically moves the checklist to the Done list, out of sight, and removes it from My Assignments and the In Process list.

Did this answer your question?